Keeping the Castle

by Patrice Kindle

Keeping the Castle coverAlthea, in her falling-apart-beneath-her-feet family castle, has to marry well. Not only because of the aforementioned castle, but also because her family is depending on her marriage. To be a good one. Involving a rich husband.

But just because he’s rich, doesn’t mean he’s worthy. And Althea’s witty nature is more than put to the test with the line of unsuitable suitors that are put in front her her.

This review will be brief – shocking! I know! – because it’s pretty easy to sum up my feelings about Keeping the Castle: a delightful, tongue-in-cheek nod to Jane Austen and Regency era novels about the trials, tribulations and oddities of courtship.

I struggled a bit to connect with Althea, but she’s witty, observant and always seems to be plotting. And I can admire those traits and enjoy the consequences and retorts that come from them. If I had to put a finger on what my issue was with Althea, it was how we were introduced to her: the situation came off as cold and calculating instead of witty and smart to me.

I was a big fan of the characterization of the two ugly stepsisters. (How can you not call them that?) And of all the suitors. A bit on the unbelievable side – but just over that line.

And I loved the Castle. I loved how decrepit it was. It wasn’t just gusty and starting to slightly crumble. It was seriously, 100% falling down. And yet Althea loved it. And wanted to save it.

Like I said – a fun, delightful read. (And a quick one, for what it’s worth.) A great historical read for those who may not like the flowery language of the Regency novels.

Where this book came from: galley copy from ALA

Leave a comment