ALA Midwinter 2014 Redux

Aaand nearly two weeks later, it is my turn to do a brief (or not-so-brief, we’ll see what happens) recap of the conference that brings all the librarians to the yard: ALA Midwinter 2014.

True story: I just deleted about three pages worth of my descriptions of ALAMW because yeah. You didn’t want to read all that. Instead, I’m going to fall back on one of my fave things: Pros/Cons Lists

CONS OF ALAMW 2014: PHILLY EDITION

  • Cold/snow cause traffic/travel problems. This is what happens when you go cold places in winter. (But save money. So I get it.)
  • Not enough time to eat all the food. Because it was so, so good.
  • Not enough time to see all the sites. Being a Midwesterner, old cities absolutely fascinate me.
  • Being unable to figure out where I was. This isn’t Philly’s fault. I am directionally challenged.
  • Spending 15+ hours in a conference room and being unable to see many of the panels/talks or spend as much time on the exhibit floor as I have in the past

PROS OF ALAMW 2014: PHILLY EDITION:

  • Spending 15+ hours with a group of librarians that were amazing, passionate and hilarious to watch work their way through over 200 nominations to create an epically awesome final Quick Picks list.
  • The food. I can’t even tell you.
  • Getting to see the Liberty Bell with absolutely no crowd due to extremely cold temps.
  • Hearing every librarian in the room gasp when the park ranger crossed the security line to point out the death crack in the bell.
  • Attending YALSA’s Midwinter Paper Presentation (my other committee!!) and seeing how great the turn out was and how interesting the topic was. (It cannot be denied that I also learned about STD eCards at this presentation.)
  • Going around the exhibit hall floor and taking picture of all the QP nominees with their QP flags
  • Attending numerous events, dinners and parties with my fellow committee members. So many happy memories.
  • Seeing one of our committee members see snow fall for the first time
  • Getting to hang out with my Partner in Travel and Crime, Brynne.
  • Going to the Franklin Institute with Jackie and Liz early Friday morning. There’s photographic evidence of me completing a circuit with a Graaff machine that I’m sure will come back to haunt me.
  • Staying up way too late laughing and looking at pictures of adorable animals with my roommate, Jennifer. Sleep: who needed it?
  • Attending my first ever Youth Media Awards. I managed to get one of the last seats in the packed room and it was worth getting up super early for. I may not have read/known every single book but hearing (and contributing) applause for all of the hard-working committee members made my heart grow three sizes.

As you can tell, I had a great time in Philly. It was certainly a Work Hard/Play Hard situation and I was so exhausted/exhilarated by the time my (very delayed) flight whisked me back to Ohio.

I’m so looking forward to Annual!

Hope all is well,

~kell

Leave a Reply

