Code Name Verity

by Elizabeth Wein

Code Name Verity coverTold in two halves, Code Name Verity throws us directly into the dark side of World War II. The first half is a gripping, stream of conscious confession of a captured British, teenage girl spy.

The second half brings us the flip side: Maddie’s story. The spy’s best friend and pilot, ferrying planes back and forth across the British countryside.

And that’s all I feel comfortable saying.

So. Code Name Verity.

I loved this book. I really, seriously adored this book. I mean, whoa.

I’m not exactly wordsmithing this post, but here’s the deal: it is so hard to figure out what to say without giving too much away. Without completely ruining the book. So. Hard.

Here’s what I will say: I love reading books about strong, resilient teens. Specifically teen girls. I also love when those teens have flaws and do things wrong and must rise to the occasion. Code Name Verity had all of this.

But what I love most of all is when a story centers around a friendship. And Wein’s gorgeous novel is grounded in the story of two best friends. There may be a hint of a love story, but it doesn’t even matter. What matters is the relationship between these two girls and how they interact and help each other through the war.

Clearly, this is a historical novel. So, if that’s not your cup of tea, then maybe Verity isn’t for you. I’ve also read a few reviews about how the book can be boring/dragging. And I understand that, especially in Part 1. The stream of conscious writing can seem full of random, unnecessary details and suffer from a lack of editing. But let’s be real. The confession she’s writing would not have been edited. But I do get it.

Also, on the fair warning front, there are some pretty graphic descriptions of torture. So, there’s that.

I think it’s amazing, though. And how Wein handles the storyline is super impressive. This book both gutted me and gave me hope. Just a lovely, lovely read and one of my Top 5 of the year, so far.

Published by: Disney/Hyperion; Hyperion Books for Children
How I Stumbled Upon this Book: egalley provided by publisher

3 responses to “Code Name Verity

  1. I was wondering whether you would be happy to put up a link in my monthly series called “Books You Love”. The idea is for people to link up posts about a book they loved. It could be an old fave. I am hoping we will end up with a nice collection of books that can go on our reading lists. Here is the link Books You Loved July Edition

  2. Thanks for linking this in. Have a great week.

Leave a comment