ALA 2012 or Bust

If you’re in the library world, you likely know that the American Library Association’s annual conference is being held this week in Anaheim, California. If you’re not in the library world and just stumbled upon this post (or are part of my fleet of faithful, non-librarian readers), ALA is a huge event that causes thousands of librarians to converge on a single city.

Sensible shoes and tote bags galore, basically.

It’s a trip. I’ll be attending the conference for my second time and I’m quite excited. My purpose there is two-fold: mostly, for me, it’s a working conference. Basically, attending a lot of sessions about academic libraries (which is how I earn my money) and catching up with colleagues in the field. It’s incredibly refreshing and inspiring, esp. if your instruction materials are feeling old and boring.

I am hoping to fit some play into the conference as well. First and foremost, Disney. You know I’ll be hitting that up. Roller coasters, park food and Disney playlands FTW! I can’t help it. I love it.

I’m also planning on attending The Great YA Blogger Meet Up, organized by the awesome peeps at Stacked and the YA Highway. I am So. Excited. As I have expressed numerous times in the last yearish, prior to my Cybils involvement, I maintained my own isolated presence in book blogger world. Post-Cybils, though, I have been “introduced” to so many wonderful, talented people. And I’m slowly but surely meeting them in person. And I can’t wait to meet more people at this meet up. I’m very much looking forward to it.

There are, of course, work/play situations as well: I’m really hoping to meet my Library Journal editor in person, because she is awesome and I want to bestow my many thanks upon her. I need to do some exhibit-hall strolling, to keep my eyes on books for this blog and for work (I collect for our Juvenile collection, woot!). I also am planning on stopping by one of the open book selection committee meetings, just to see how that all goes down. AND. I have a ticket for the Printz bash on Monday night. I’m not sure I can put into cohesive words and phrases what that means to me.

All in all, I’m really looking forward to it, work or play. If you’re planning on being at ALA and see me wandering, say hello! (And maybe point me in the right direction, I get turned around at conferences so. easily.) And stop by the meet-up if you get the chance!

If not, I’ll likely be tweeting quite a bit (depending on the network situation), so follow along there!

Hope all is well, folks. And, as always, yay books!

~kell

Leave a Reply

