Compulsion

by Heidi Ayarbe

Compulsion CoverJake “Magic” Martin just needs to help win the soccer state championship on Saturday. That’s it. If he does that, it will be three championships. Three. A perfect prime number.

And if he can get that magic number Three, the spiders in his head will go away. He’ll stop having to rely on those prime numbers to get him out of the house and through the day. He’ll be…normal.

Just one more win. That’s it. Three.

So, I’m going to come right out and say this: I didn’t really like this book. BUT I didn’t like it because it was so incredibly well done that I felt tense throughout the entire thing. It was like I was in Jake’s mind and something was about to go horribly, horribly wrong if the numbers didn’t work out right.

A fascinating, if tragic, look inside the head of a teen dealing with obsessive-compulsive disorder, among other things. I can’t say I liked Jake, because I never really felt like I knew him – just his disease and his huge efforts to hide his disease. But I felt for him. I wanted him to win that third championship so he could become normal just as much as he did.

I also felt for him because he seemed so incredibly lonely. Which was a tragedy itself.

So, while I can’t say that I loved this book, I thought it was really well done. And eye-opening. And it made me FEEL, which can never be discounted.

Leave a Reply

