The Body Finder

(The Body Finder #1)

by Kimberly Derting

The Body Finder cover artViolet has a special…gift. Actually, let’s call it a burden. Violet has a special burden. She can see/hear/smell imprints left by the dead. More specifically, imprints left by those who were killed in a non-natural way. Which, mostly means that Violet is finding dead animals.

But occasionally. Occasionally, she finds bodies. Bodies of people who have been violently murdered.

 

I loved the creepy concept of this book. A girl can track bodies and the murderer using a special 6th sense. And when a series of murders happen nearby, mystery and terror ensue. It was so easy to get caught up in the “Who Done It,” and the rather fantastical gift that Violet possesses.

I also greatly appreciated the B-roll storyline. Let’s just say there is a cute Boy (isn’t there always) and how things go down with Boy was super refreshing. Okay, maybe it was a bit on the predictable side. But not as predictable as I was guessing – and that totally counts for something.

In sum, I was totally drawn in by this book. Violet’s gift was interesting and the mystery was truly a mystery. Cute boy was cute. There was creepiness and terror, but it was tempered by high school drama – aka not nightmare-inducing (a la The Historian).

In a really odd (ood) reaction, though, I have no desire to read the next book in the series. Is that weird? I think that’s weird. I’m usually all about wanting to see what happens next. But, with The Body Finder, I thought everything wrapped up quite well. Also, I have a small fear there might be a bit too much gushing for me going on between certain people.

All-in-all, though, I was quite pleased. Any book that has me wanting to read it secretly under my desk at work is one worth recommending.

How I came to read this fine book: there was an ebook special. I bought it. And read it on my nook. woo!

[ETA: I had an interesting conversation with a fellow librarian about whether having a 6th sense that helps you find dead people is a sci/fi trait or a fantasy. I sided with fantasy on this one…anyone have any dissenting opinions?]

Leave a Reply

