Trickster’s Girl

by Hilari Bell

Cover for TGBrief Summary: All the trees are dying and no one can find a cure for the plague affecting them. No one, it seems, except Raven – the mysterious boy who promises magic and world-wide cures to a grieving Kelsa. Kelsa, however, just wants to be left alone. She knows her father would have done anything to save the dying trees, though, so she hesitatingly agrees to help Raven on his quest – even though she doesn’t trust him.

Kell’s Chatty Review: On the whole, I enjoyed Trickster’s Girl. The beginning was a little shaky, but the writing and plot evened out as the book continued.

What really impressed me was the fact we had an attractive girl and an attractive guy, yet Bell didn’t cross the line from friendship into Something More. I probably wouldn’t have liked the book nearly as much if that line had  been crossed. So, kudos there.

Bell also combined ancient mythologies with a near-future setting, which worked better in some places than others. At the beginning it was completely jarring, but by the end it felt natural and believable.

(Spoiler below)

I’m intrigued with how this series has set itself up with what I assume will be a new main character for the next book. I’m interested to see how it works out – I was pretty attached to Kelsa by the end, so I’m not sure how well I’ll deal with Raven’s new cronie. It’s def. a unique approach to the series format.

Bottom Line: While the writing didn’t wow me, the story was unique enough to keep me reading and I’ll probably be looking for the next book in the series to see how it all works out.

Where this book came from: ebook from NG.

Leave a Reply

