Best of 2010 in Books

End of the Year survey I saw this excellent survey on Persnickety Snark and loved it so that I decided to give it a go myself. The survey was made by The Perpetual Page-Turner – thanks, Jamie! – so go over there to see other awesome Best of 2010 in Books (I think I added about 20 books to my TBR pile).

Obviously, the year is not yet over, so this is what I’ve read as over 12/11/2010 at 4:13 pm.

1. Best Book of 2010: Although this choice might be partially made because I read it so recently, I have to say Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins. I can’t recall any other book this year that I immediately went back and reread my favorite parts. A close second would probably be The Mysterious Howling by Maryrose Wood.

2. Worst Book of 2010: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson. I couldn’t finish it. In its defense, I was also in my last quarter of grad school and burnt out. The financial and business discussions at the beginnings just killed me.

3. Most Disappointing Book of 2010: The Lace Reader by Brunonia Barry. Not that it was bad, it was just so hyped by my friend that the actual read paled by comparison.

4. Most surprising (in a good way!) of 2010: The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows – I had no idea what to expect from this book and it completely surprised me with its loveliness.

5. Book you recommended the most in 2010: Hands down, The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins.

6. Best series you discovered in 2010: The Doctor Who series (written by a variety of authors). And, yes. I know this makes me a nerd, but I am way okay with that. I also read quite a few first books for series that were good, but until I’ve read more than one I don’t want to commit to liking the entire series, you know?

7. Favorite new author you discovered in 2010: Sarah Beth Durst (Into the Wild and Out of the Wild) was awesome. I also have a feeling that I will love reading the rest of Siobhan Vivian’s novels (Not That Kind of Girl). My favorite debut author has to be Stephanie Perkins (Anna and the French Kiss). Has to be.

8. Most hilarious read of 2010: Scarlett Fever by Maureen Johnson. Belly laughs. A lot of them. (I also must mention Live for You Listening Pleasure by David Sedaris. Not a fiction book, but hysterical none-the-less.)

9. Most thrilling, unputdownable book of 2010: Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins.

10. Book you most anticipated of 2010: Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins.

11. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2010: Pegasus by Robin McKinley.

12. Most memorable character in 2010: Tiny Cooper from Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan. (Katniss is awesome, but she was my 2009 character.)

13. Most beautifully written book in 2010: With all the Printz reading, this is a hard choice, but I think I’m going with When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead. So graceful.

14. Book that had the greatest impact on you in 2010: Stolen by Lucy Christopher.

15. Book you can’t believe you UNTIL 2010 to read: Brisingr by Christopher Paolini. I’ve owned this book for years. Sigh.

Book Blogging:

1. New favorite book blog you discovered in 2010: The Story Siren. I’ve heard about (and had seen links to) this fabulous blog for awhile, but I finally got the RSS feed this year. Heart!

2. Favorite review you wrote in 2010: Couldn’t even tell you because I’m not a rereader of my reviews after they are posted.

3. Best discussion you had on your blog in 2010: Well, John Barnes commented on my Tales of a Madman Underground post. That was awesome. The Magician‘s post and Jane of Lantern Hill posts not only have the most comments, they also are the most viewed for the year, I believe.

4. Most thought-provoking review or discussion you read on someone else’s blog: There has been A TON this year. A TON. Not sure I could even pick one out.

5. Best event you participated in: Scott Westerfeld’s book signing was pretty awesome.

6. Best moment of book blogging in 2010: When The Re-Shelf doubled its views from last year :). Also, anytime an author, fellow blogger, random awesome person links or tweets me is just a rush of joy and happiness. Such a nerd.

7. Best bookish discovery made in 2010: Half-Price Books. This was also the worst bookish discovery for my shelves.

One teeny, tiny addition: Best reread of 2010: Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery. Oh, Anne.

10 responses to “Best of 2010 in Books

  1. The Hunger Games series were a big hit with me and my inner reading circle as well. So was The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo (your worst!), but in noticed your qualified that. I know with me sometimes WHEN you read a book – or under what circumstances – has a lot to do with how much you like it.

    I enjoyed reading through your summary. πŸ™‚

    -Jay

    • I really, really want to give The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo another shot – I even have the film waiting in my Netflix queue! I’m hoping to try and tackle it again sometime next year. It’s exactly like you said – certain circumstances can really influence whether or not you like a book.
      ~Kell

  2. I didn’t finish Girl with the Dragon Tattoo because it was so badly translated that it was difficult to read. And, yeah, that discussion about journalism and finance and business was where I quit too. ugh.

    I haven’t given the book away yet though, which I guess says something. I might give it another try another time.

    • You know, I wondered if the translation had something to do with my problems finishing Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. Hmm. I’m glad you mentioned it because otherwise I would never have reconsidered the translation was bad.

      Thanks for stopping by the blog!
      ~Kell

  3. YEAH! Tiny Cooper!! (my choice too, hehe) glad to see you liked Mockingjay… i’m a bit disappointed that soo many people found it disappointing! 😦

    • LOVE Tiny Cooper!

      And I’m a bit disappointed about the lack of love for Mockingjay as well, although it doesn’t surprise me. The subject matter was very dark and, I think, instead of making it all shiny and pretty and perfect like most people wanted, Collins risked it and made the ending what I imagine to be much more true to both the characters and the story. But it was a very dark and sad book, so I do understand the apprehension.

      Thanks for stopping by the blog!
      ~kell

  4. I keep reading The Hunger Games on nearly everyone’s lists. I am going to HAVE to read this series!

Leave a Reply

