Clockwork Angel

The Infernal Devices: Book 1

by Cassandra Clare

Brief Summary: As a prequel of sorts to the Mortal Instruments series by Clare (by “of sorts” I largely mean that the two series can stand apart from each other [at least thus far] and don’t rely on prior knowledge to enjoy them), Clockwork Angel begins as Tessa disembarks her ship from New York to London in the Victorian era. She is looking for her brother, who sent for her. Instead she finds two odd-looking women waiting for her. Skip ahead a few weeks and we discover that Tessa has been imprisoned by these women and forced to realize that there is more to the world than she thought. Demons and creatures of the night – and Tessa is apparently one of them.

Kell’s Chatty Review: That was an incredibly brief summary – even for me. But there’s a lot going on with this book: Shadow Hunters, vampires, warlocks, nefarious plots, etc., etc. And if you have read the Mortal Instruments series, these terms are probably familiar. But if you haven’t (and you don’t have to), it can get a bit overwhelming. But the plot is intriguing and the characters are fabulous (as to be expected in a Cassandra Clare novel) and left me wanting the sequel stat.

I found: that Clockwork Angel introduced the world of Shadow Hunters and Downworlders a lot better than City of Bones. Largely, this is because Tessa has a Codex that helps break everything down – but the introduction never seemed forced and was a nice refresher since it has been a bit since I’ve read the MI series.

Is it any surprise: that I loved both Will and Jem? Both are so unique and troubled and fantastically in bro-love with each other. Even though I know I should be concerned about their future love lives, really I am just concerned for how their love lives will affect their bro-mance. Seriously. I would totally watch the Will and Jem show. When they were together they amused me to no end.

A quick note: How infuriatingly intriguing is it knowing that these characters SOMEHOW lead to the characters in the Mortal Instruments series, but we have no idea how they actually will connect. Love it (in a I-totally-hate-the-wait way)!

What I most wanted to do after reading this book: Re-read the Mortal Instruments series. But that will have to wait until we are closer to the release of City of Fallen Angels.

Where this book came from: My library! It looks so pretty on my shelf with the MI series. So shiny!

Leave a Reply

