i am the messenger

by Markus Zusak

Brief Summary: Ed Kennedy is your typical local hero: randomly stopped a robbery at a bank, appeared in the papers for a few days, etc. etc. He thinks the hoopla is mostly over until he gets a card in the mail. A playing card – Ace of Diamonds to be exact. On the card is three addresses and three times – Ed’s mission has begun.

Kell’s Chatty Review: I very much so loved (awesome grammar) this book. Even the ending couldn’t sway my love for it (more on this later). The whole idea of “mysterious missions to save the world delivered on playing cards” was so unique and fascinating that even if I didn’t love Ed, I probably would still have loved the book. But I did love Ed.

Especially: his love for The Doorman. His lazy, smelly, coffee-drinking dog. From the Doorman’s first introduction to the very end he was by far my favorite character.

Vignettes: I did love each of Ed’s encounters with his “missions” – even the not so pleasant ones. For me, the good far outweighed the bad and his continued effort to visit some of those former missions really showed how much Ed was changing throughout the book.

We have to talk about the ending, though: Because, apparently, it has ruffled some feathers. To some it’s perfect, to others: a cop-out. Me? I was a tad bit confused, and if I had to pick a side, I would lean towards cop-out. But – and this is odd for me, because normally I don’t think this way – the ending was only a tiny part of the book. For me, the journey MORE than made up for the rather lackluster ending.

What I most wanted to do after reading this book: Read reviews to find out what other people thought of the ending. (True Story.)

Where this book came from: my bookshelf! (and the red dot at the bottom of the book tells me I bought this as a bargain book! yay me!)

Leave a Reply

