The Demon’s Lexicon

by Sarah Rees Brennan

Brief Summary: Nick and Alan have been running away from magicians and their demon underlings for as long as Nick can remember. The brothers have relied on each other for food, shelter and their lives. While Alan serves as the caring, compassionate of the two, Nick provides them with safety – you know, by killing said magicians and demons. Then Alan gets them tangled up with two non-magic people – and trouble follows.

Kell’s Chatty Review: The Demon’s Lexicon is enthralling. It got off to a bit of a slow and confused start, but by the time I was a couple chapters in, I couldn’t put it down. There were SO MANY mysteries and twists and turns. And the end – holy geez!  Can we all ask “Where’s the sequel?!?!”

Cover Issues: I very much judge a book by its cover. As one of my best friends explained – there’s too many books out there and you have to judge by something. And I am a cover whore. I will buy a book solely for it’s cover (or binding.) – true story. And I am NOT a fan of the original cover art of The Demon’s Lexicon. It just didn’t call to me. But, the book was handed out at ALA for free and I was constantly hearing wonderful things about it, so I decided to ignore the cover and give it a go. And I’m glad I did. (I’m also glad the paperback comes in a different cover – although when I go to buy this set, I’ll want a hardback set, so maybe I’ll have to import from the UK if they have a different cover? Not sure. But I like my series to match [remember: cover whore] in both the covers and the binding. So epic, complaining sigh.)

Oh, Nick: I know I’m not supposed to like you. But I do. Even with everything that happened, I heart you and gladly welcome you onto my Fictional Character Toothbrush List. What can I say, brooding boys are hot. (see: Edward Cullen. And half of my Fictional Character Toothbrush List.)

Dear Ms. Rees Brennan: i’m not sure how you plan on resolving this lovely cliffhanger you left me with. But please remedy soon. If cookie encouragement is needed, please let me know! Thanks bunches and you’re blog (can you call a LiveJournal a blog? not sure.) is hysterical. Love, Kell.

What I most wanted to do after reading this book (besides demand the sequel): Go to a Goblin Market. Seriously. What is it about magical festivals that are so enchanting?

Where this book came from: As previously mentioned, I received the ARC from ALA (although I’ll have to check if it was midwinter or annual.). For free.

Leave a Reply

