Suite Scarlett

by Maureen Johnson

Brief Summary: Scarlett lives in a hotel with her family. But don’t compare her to Eloise – the Hopewell isn’t precisely modern and posh. Let’s just say it has character and charm (and requires a lot of work from Scarlett’s family). For Scarlett’s 15th birthday, she’s given the usual gift – a room in the hotel to care for. And any of the guests that may check into that room. And just her luck, Mrs. Amberson moves in shortly after and literally turns her world into utter, complete chaos.

Kell’s Chatty Review: So, this wasn’t the first time I had read this book. I wanted to reread it before taking on its sequel. But I can assure you, Scarlett and the entire Martin family were as charming, endearing and hysterical as the first time around.

The Hopewell: So, yeah, their hotel is falling apart. But it sounds SO. UTTERLY. AMAZING. What can I say, I’m a sucker for architectural details. And named rooms. There’s just something so classy about rooms with names rather than numbers.

But really, my favorite: is the entire Hamlet plot. Hamlet done like in prohibition era with a circus flair is BRILLIANT. I would totally pay to see that. (Although, if anyone needs reminding, I paid to see Hamlet 2 in theatres. Twice. And loved it both times.)

And I dare anyone: to read this book and not fall in love with Spencer. I mean, yes, I am incredibly endeared to Scarlett’s practical and creative mindwaves, but Spencer literally steals scenes away from our heroine – and then graciously gives them back (only to make you love him more, I’m convinced.)

He is not, however: my favorite character. Read the Scarlett Fever review for that big reveal! (You’re on the edge of your seats with that one aren’t you?)

What I most wanted to do after reading this book: Well, this time around – read the sequel. But I can 100% assure you that the first time I read this book, I had the same reaction as the one after reading the sequel for the first time.

Where this book came from: Loaded question, this one is. Technically, I own my very own, gorgeous hardcover copy of Suite Scarlett. But I read this one on my nook with an e-book copy I got for free from B&N (and, I’m presuming here, Point) that was given away for a promotion for the sequel.

Leave a Reply

