Skellig

by David Almond

Brief Summary: Michael’s newborn sister is sick. Like in and out of the hospital, not sure what’s going to happen sick. His family just moved into a house they had hoped to renovate, but because of the baby, things have been put on hold. Everyone is distracted and worried. Which is why Michael’s wondering if what he found in the run-down, full of junk garage is something amazing or something not even real.

Kell’s Chatty Review: This is a lovely, quiet little story. There’s anguish and wonder, but it’s very subtle and beautifully written. I loved that there were a few blurry answers (more on this later) that really allowed imagination to fly. Finally, I found Almond’s inclusion of William Blake’s poetry utterly seamless.

On Mina: If you’ve read Skellig, you will already know that I loved Mina. I loved her for her curiosity, her acceptance, her understanding and her directness. I also appreciated her ability to apologize, which rarely is included in a character who is that direct.

Urban-Fantasy: I hate genre-lizing, but I have to say this is the one of the more realistic urban-fantasy books intended for the younger end of the YA scale. I’m sure there are more out there, but it was one of the first I’ve read and I really am impressed. Due to the length of the novel, I think you really have to trust your reader to understand or believe in the fantasy your creating and you could tell Almond really trusted in his readers.

On Skellig (includes spoilers!): How bizarre and lovely of a creature was he? I’m pretty set on what I think he was, but it was obviously left up for debate.

What I most wanted to do after reading this book: Not eat Chinese food. The descriptions of Skellig eating it were not appealing.

What life lesson I learned from this book: Sometimes you have to be patient and you have to have hope.

Where this book came from: The University library!

Leave a Reply

