Rodrick Rules

by Jeff Kinney

Brief Summary: In the equally hilarious sequel to Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Greg Heffley returns with a new Diary for a new year at school. This year, we get to experience Mom Bucks, talent shows, Halloween excursions and try to figure out what Rodrick is holding over Greg’s head.

Kell’s Chatty Review: Greg Heffley cracks me up. Literally – I almost spit out pop while I was reading this one. (The last one I read while flying – big mistake: had to try not to laugh.) He’s so incredibly honest and his schemes are so incredibly hare-brained that it combines to make for a fun read  – not just for kids!

Favorite Character: I would have an epically hard time trying to pick out my favorite character. To be honest, though, I think I would pick Mom more often than not. The drawings of her crack me up every. single. time. Plus, she’s just wants everyone to get along! I always feel bad for Rowley, though!

Quick Read: One of the best parts about this series of books is that it’s incredibly fast. And when you’re working and in grad school – that’s much appreciated!

What I most wanted to do after reading this book: I always want to try cartooning – but I’m terrible at it. Even stick figures.

What life lesson I learned from this book: Don’t try to pull a fast one on your mom.

Where this book came from: I own it! (and the rest of the series!)

Final Word: Don’t be ashamed to go pick this one up in the kid’s section of the library or bookstore. It’s worth it.

Leave a Reply

