What I Saw and How I Lied

by Judy Blundell

(Once again, I actually listened to this. So if I make some spelling mistakes, it’s not on purpose!)

Brief Summary:  Evie Spooner (fantastic name!) and her family have decided to take a break for awhile. Even though Evie has school and Joe (her stepdad) has work. They drive to Palm Beach and find it…mostly empty. They make due, however, finding a hotel to stay in for a few weeks.

But they aren’t the only ones escaping the northern cold by heading south. They’ve been followed. Joe, who Evie adores, has started acting funny. Evie’s mom refuses to let her grow up. And then there’s Peter Coleridge – the slightly older man that Evie is crushing on. But nothing seems to be adding up. Everything is just a little … off.

Pretty soon Evie is sorting through an assortment of lies to try and figure out where everything went wrong. And if she can ever make it alright again.

Kell’s Chatty Review: Once again, I listened to this book. I wasn’t thrilled by the narrator, but the plot of the story hooked me so that it didn’t matter who was reading it. What I Saw and How I Lied reads like a film noir movie in novel form. Every page brings both a truth and a lie and, like Evie, you are trying to figure out what the heck is going on.

The best part: was Blundell’s slow deconstruction of every character in the book. She gives you what seems like a pretty solid character base at the beginning and slowly, you and Evie start peeling layers away that you had NO idea where there. Brilliant.

Evie: I adored Evie, even though she was ridiculously naive.  This literally was her coming of age story and it was done beautifully.

Even though I listened to it: I absolutely ADORE the cover of this book. It completely embodies the many things that were going on in Evie’s life, but still is so simple and elegant.

What I most wanted to do after reading this book: Put on red lipstick and a retro dress.

What life lesson I learned from this book: Characters aren’t always what they seem.

Where this book came from: Borrowed from my local library!

Leave a Reply

