Andromeda Klein

by Frank Portman

(Quick note: I listened to the audio book version of this title. Therefore, while I’m trying to find correct spellings of names, I might get some wrong. Please don’t get upset!)

Brief Summary: Andromeda Klein has a crap-ton of issues: a house that has no doorknobs, a mom that prefers online gaming to the real world, a dad with paranoia theories, a dead sort-of best friend, a hearing problem due to disorganized collagen, a voice in her head named Huggy, some interesting Tarot readings and, you know, school. And that’s only the tip of things.

However, things are going from bad to worse when it appears her dead sort-of best friend may not be moving on so easily and some creepy things are starting to happen. Andromeda has to figure out how to get everything all organized – and save some weeded books – before things get really out of control.

Kell’s Chatty Review: I loved this book, however, it is completely overwhelming at first. Andromeda throws a boatload of occult history and theory at you and it’s basically sink or swim. But totally worth wading through, I promise.

Portman delivers a hysterical story with just enough creepiness to keep the reader on their toes. Andromeda is completely one-of-a-kind, and almost every character could have a whole novel written about them. Loved it.

I’m not sure: I’d recommend the audio book, mostly because of the complex history and ever-changing character list. I can’t say I understood everything 100% because I couldn’t go back and refer to something in an earlier chapter that I was confused about. Jury is still out on the whole audio book thing.

Kudos: to Frank Portman. I wasn’t sure I’d ever find a literary figure whose name I liked more than Margo Roth Speigelman, however (and this is the spelling issue) Rosalie Van Gannuckton (that’s how it sounded, no clue if that’s how it’s spelled)(just checked Wikipedia; apparently it’s actually Rosalie Van Genuchten) comes AWFULLY close. His use of her full name throughout the book made me extremely happy.

As a Librarian-In-Training: I, of course, delighted at the frequent use of library terminology and issues. So dorky.

I read: On Goodreads that this book sets up for a sequel. I’m not sure if it’s true, but I’d totally read it.

What Life Lesson I learned from this book: Don’t rewrite spells/enchantments/various other magical things. you might evoke something.

What I most wanted to do after reading this book: Actually read it. And read about Tarot cards. And wonder how much research went into the writing of this book.

Where this Book came from: This audio book came from the library!

2 responses to “Andromeda Klein

  1. I had a brief conversation with Frank Portman, and this is what he had to say on the novel:

    “I have read bits of everything referenced, with some things studied extensively during the three years I spent writing that book. It was a strange program, and I started to doubt my sanity at times.”

    • I can totally see how he started to doubt his sanity – an excellent book with a lot of awesome craziness going on!

      Thanks for stopping by the blog, Bradley!
      ~Kell

Leave a Reply

