Hush, Hush

by Becca Fitzpatrick

Brief Summary: A long, long LONG time ago, angels were cast out of Heaven for their misdeeds – their wings ripped off for their crimes. Not only that, these fallen angels couldn’t feel anything, except for a few weeks during the year when they were allowed to possess a vassals’ body.

Fast Forward to 2009, and Nora just wants to get good grades, help her mom keep their house and go to a top tier college. This plan is going perfectly until one of her teachers changes seating assignments and her new Biology partner is Patch – the moody new kid with the who-cares attitude. Not only does Patch stand in the way of Nora’s perfect GPA, he also seems to know far too much about her. And things all of a sudden start getting spooky. Nora will get to the bottom of this, as long as her attraction to Patch doesn’t get in the way…

Kell’s Chatty Review: “Hush, Hush” is delectable in the best way possible. It’s juicy, suspenseful and full of humor. There are some really spooky moments (creepy characters help to aide in this), but not enough to call it a horror. I really enjoyed Fitzpatrick’s writing style – not overly formal, but more on the fun and loose side of things. Also, it was a fast read (as I finished it in one sitting).

Full Disclosure: I had been putting off reading this for awhile, because I thought it was just a Twilight with angels. And, truth be told, there are similarities. I would be lying if there weren’t. But the storyline is original enough that these similarities kind of melted away, and in the end Hush, Hush really stood out on its own. (Esp. the end.)

I Loved Vee: Who is great with the one-liners and her arguments with Coach were awesome.

Slight Confusion: I also have to admit that I was starting to get slightly confused towards the end, and I’m not sure all the questions were answered which is okay and not really a problem, but I thought I’d mention it. Also, it’s probably good to note I was reading an ARC version of it, so this could have been changed for the final bound copy. Also…

There is a Sequel Coming: Called Crescendo. Which makes me happy, as I think it probably will address said holes/questions that were not answered in Hush, Hush.

What life lesson I learned from this book: I really should take some sort of self defense/kick boxing class. Sigh. Add another thing to my “when grad school is done” list.

What I most wanted to do after reading this book: I literally checked to see if there’s a sequel. At 2:15 in the morning. Instead of going to bed.

Where This Book Came From: ARC from ALA. I will be buying it however.

But the important question is…

Did Patch Make the Fictional Characters Toothbrush List*: Why, yes, yes he did.

*So explaining this is a long story. To make it a short story, Toothbrush List is a long standing List of guys/fictional characters/celebrities that I have crushes on. Gilbert Blythe has held the No. 1 spot on the Fictional Characters list since I was about 12**. Other than that, it changes frequently.

** See a lovely image of Gilbert, as depicted by Jonathon Crombie here. Sigh.

Leave a Reply

