Rumpelstiltskin

So, quickly, I wanted to note that because I was already reading the Grimm Bros, I decided to take a look at the Rumpelstiltskin tale and give it a quick comparison to A Curse Dark as Gold.

I’m not sure, after rereading it, what used to terrify me most about this story as a child because I don’t think I would understand the thing that I find terrifying about it now.

For the most part, the story is pretty ridiculous. A farmer basically sends his daughter to certain death claiming to the king that she can spin gold from straw. The king (who is RIDICULOUSLY greedy in my opinion), is all for this and locks the girl in the room with straw and says if its not gold by morning = certain death. You know the rest. Little man, three times, what’s his name?

Ridiculous, right? I mean what farmer is like “Hey, I can make life better by knowingly LYING to the King about my daughter’s abilities, probably getting her AND myself killed.” And why does the King never make the daughter (who, now, is his wife, naturally, even though he, you know, condemned her to death three times) spin more gold? Three rooms is just enough for him forever? Doubtful.

Even so, the fact you can be put into such a dire situation that you would feel forced to give up such precious items (ranging from mementos to babies) is terrifying. Seriously. And maybe I was terrified of being forced to marry that horrific king.

Either way, unlike Tender Morsels, I found A Curse Dark as Gold to be more influenced by the story, rather than a retelling. Sure the basics of the plot are there. Dire situations. Little Man. Straw to Gold. Husband. But other than that, the two are pretty dissimilar (and, let’s be honest here, A Curse Dark as Gold is much more believable in its predicaments.).

As I’ve noted before, I love retellings of myths, folklore and fairy-tales, whether it’s a via influence or direct connections. Both are awesome. There will be more to come, I’m sure, so tune in.

Have a good one

~Kell

Leave a Reply

