ARC Roundup

The Musician’s Daughter by Susanne Dunlap: Set back in the times of fiefdom, “The Musician’s Daughter” stems from a teens’ quest to find out who murdered her father (a musician), where his prized violin went and what the gold charm he had around his neck at the time of death meant. While slow to build, the story was really interesting. Especially if you like gypsies, corsets and mysteries. There were a few good twists and turns that kept the intrigue strong and I felt it was a very honest look at the time period. Worth the read. Oh and the cover art is gorgeous. Probably would buy it if I saw it (haven’t yet.).(Book from ALAMW09, asked for specifically by me.)

Rampant by Diana Peterfreund: I WANTED to like this. The premise was so intriguing: killer unicorns. And unicorn hunters. I can’t say what it was that made it not all that awesome. The unbelievable nature of it maybe? I think it was more the problems I had with Astrid (the main character). I LOVED the Ivy League novels by Peterfreund, so I’m kinda bummed by thinking this only as mediocre. But maybe it was just me. Read it and let me know? I’m undecided. (Also from ALAMW009, but this was just sitting on a lovely display!)

Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins: Obviously, I do not want any spoilers. But if you thought The Hunger Games ended abruptly, wait until you read the second installment of this trilogy. I’ll do an actual post of this when it’s really out (and since I’ll probably re-read THG, you’ll probably get a review of that as well), but in the meantime I just want to say that sometimes, second books in trilogies are hard to read because they act as a connector. Catching Fire, however, is just as un-put-downable as the first. Loved it. Already have preordered a copy! (Source: ALA09, stood in line happily at the Scholastic booth for this. Made Abby stand with me.)

All ARC’s were free at a conference!

Leave a Reply

