Movie Review: PoA

Favorite Scene: I LOVE the additional scenes of the kids being kids (i.e. when the boys are eating the things that make them make animal noises). I also love the  boggart scene. it’s like the one scene where prof. lupin is happy.

Least Favorite Scene: For reasons I’ll explain later, I do not the scene post-the Shrieking Shack scene.

Biggest Thing Cut/Changed In the Film: Sigh. What WASN’T changed in this film? I don’t mind some changes for purposes of time or plot. And I would have even been okay with the parts cut if they included them in the DVD (see the Lord of the Rings). But there are so many vital moments (i.e. when Harry says he’ll live with Sirius [see above], the backstory of the Marauder’s Map and how Harry finds out about Sirius’ role in his life) that were cut or ignored or changed that it makes it hard for me to really embrace it. (which is a bummer, because I do think some of their additions are fantastic [see further above].) See why I sighed?

Favorite Scene/Line Added to the Movie: “Poor Professor Lupin’s having a really tough night!” (Harry)

Random Observation: There is something about the scores of these films that I adore. John Williams isn’t scoring them anymore, but the new composer still keeps just enough of the originals to know ‘Harry Potter!!!!’ in the trailer and commence freaking out before anything has even come on screen. (And how awesome are the trailers?)

Since I forgot to do this in my last post, the current standings are:

Books:

#1 Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone

#2 Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

Movies:

#1 Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone

#2 Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

#3 Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

(I can tell you there will be some shake ups in the standing’s after the next film and book!)

Leave a Reply

