HPRC: CoS thru Day 13

So, I technically finished Chamber of Secrets in and around Cbus this weekend, and I was without a computer. Due to this, I couldn’t update with my thoughts/comments. I was going to do one big update for the whole end of the book, but that’s a lot to work with, so I’m dividing it up into two different posts.

Beware of Spoilers!

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets; Days 7-13

Pages Read (for this post): From page 122 (The Deathday Party) thru the arbitrarily picked page 248 (The Very Secret Diary)

Seriously, how annoying is Lockhart: The man is just a menace. Between his disaster at the dueling club, his handling of harry’s injury and the valentine elves, he continues to be unimpressive. i get annoyed that Hermione liked him for so long. BUT the other teacher’s have FANTASTIC reactions to his trouble-making.

Biggest OMG moment: You wanted me to say when harry speaks to the snake in the dueling club, didn’t you? but that really isn’t a HUGE surprise. I mean we all know he can speak to snakes thanks to PS. I think for me it’s when Harry finds out what Hagrid was expelled for via Tom Riddle’s handy little diary.

Biggest HOLY CRAP that’ll come back in a later book moment: The whole chapter on Polyjuice Potion, because that factors into MANY plotlines in the future (what’s bizarre to me is that it’s supposed to be a difficult potion, but it’s used ALL THE TIME in these books.)

Character Improvements: Dobby is SO much better in the hospital wing. And i must add that Ginny gets way cooler by the end of the series. Mind you, in our current location of the HPRC, she’s being possessed by He-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named, so she might be a bit off…

Seriously: I love Fred and George. And I have this weird place in my heart for Moaning Myrtle (girl can hold a grudge!). But most of all, I want a phoenix. Although i can’t even imagine the fire hazard.

Leave a Reply

