Oh. My. Gods.

by Tera Lynn Childs.

Basic Summary: Phoebe is set. She’s heading into senior year with her three best friends, she’s got a lock on her cross country scholarship to USC and she’s completely over her sleazy ex-boyfriend/neighbor. She misses her Dad, but still life is good. But then her mom (back from a trip to Greece) announces not only did she find love in Greece, she’s moving Phoebe to Greece, where she’ll attend an ultra-exclusive high school. So exclusive it only admits descendants of Greek gods. You can imagine the problem.

Kell’s Chatty Review: Okay, let’s be honest here. This book, not deep. But for a fun summer read, I loved it. A little predictable, but for a decompression-I-just-got-out-of-school-and-can’t-think-straight, it was perfect. Phoebe was strong and had some pretty funny moments and thoughts. Naturally I adored the caste system of a Greek god high school. If you’re looking for a quick read and enjoy Greek myth-turned-fiction, this is a fun choice.

Do you now wish you could attend The Academy?: Of course I do. It’s not quite up there with Hogwarts or Camp Halfblood, but it’s on my Top 10. I would fail though. Fail.

What this book taught me about life: Well, I always love reading these type of books because you learn a little bit of Greek myth. But I also learned about the Greek transportation systems. Which was fascinating, honestly.

What I most want to do after reading this book: This one is quite a shocker, I warn you. I really want to go for a run. I know. Insane. Don’t worry, it’ll pass in five minutes.

Favorite Passage: “Ohmigods!” (used many times, and technically is the slang form of the title. But I love it. I’m a geek. A Greek myth geek.)

Unsurprising fact about Kell: I have in fact had to constrain myself from saying the above phrase in public. This is the life I lead.

Re-Readability Rating: 2.5. Not so great that I’ll reread regularly, but I did buy a copy. And I’ll probably read the sequel.

Leave a Reply

