Prom Dates from Hell

by Rosemary Clement-Moore.

Basic Summary: Maggie is in the home stretch of high school. A few more weeks and she’s onto bigger and better things. Her plan to slide anonymously through the rest of school is sidelined when someone asks her to prom. She says no and all hell breaks loose. Literally. Maggie must use her sleuthing powers to figure out what’s going on or she might actually have to go to prom.

Kell’s Chatty Review: “Prom Dates from Hell” is the first book in the Maggie Quinn: Girl vs. Evil series. I read it based on a rec from another blog (Bookshelves of Doom, I think?) and it was very funny in an intelligent, witty way. (Which I adore) The only problem I had was that it was a little slow (and slightly obvious). However, I still checked out the sequel at the library. So obviously it was pretty decent. It is a really good sleuthing book, though. Loves the intrigue.

Is it worth the read: Would I say you have to read it immediately? No. Would I say give it a chance if you want some effortless fun and laughs and mystery? Yes.

What this book taught me about life: Some chemistry, oddly enough.

Cautionary Tale?: Just to reassure everyone, saying no to prom does not equate demons will start appearing. I said no to prom TWICE and I’m still standing aren’t I? (Unless I’m secretly a demon slayer. Which I’m not. If I were, I doubt I’d be here, chatting up books. Unless is was How To Slay Demons for Dummies.)

What I most want to do after reading this book: Carry salt around. Just in case.

Favorite Passage: Since this was a library book and I had to, you know, return it, I don’t have the specific quote. But let’s just say our heroine was narrating about her chem teacher and his punishment(s) for tardy students. Awesome. 

Re-Readability Rating: 3. Maybe a 4. We’ll see how the rest of the series goes.

Leave a Reply

