ARC Round-Up

So, after ALA, I had tons of ARCs that I shipped home. I would love to give them all crazy in-depth reviews, but the ARCs specifically state not to use quotes, etc., from ARCs and (let’s face it) I’m:

a. too lazy to go out an check the quotes and page numbers from books that are already out and

b. don’t have the patience to wait for the books to come out (or the memory)

So, I’m basically going to do a quick blurb on each of the ARCs I’ve read recently. So here goes:

Slept Away by Julie Kraut: A book about a rich New Yorker sent to the woods of Pa. to a summer camp and all the bally-hoo that goes down following. I thought this book was alright. The character development wasn’t the best and the plot was pretty predictable, but it was downright hilarious. I was laughing out loud at many of the funny quips throughout the book. Even though the book laps depth, I can see younger teens eating this book up – esp. for all the pop culture references.

The Reformed Vampire Support Group by Catherine Jinks : You want a novel about vampires that turns all the myths on their heads? This is the one for you. Incredibly unique, witty and interesting, it will appeal to anyone who is looking for a vamp story that DOESN’T involve smoldering looks. It got a little slow in parts, and there was some backstory I would have liked, but overall I enjoyed this one. Not sure I’d run out and buy it, but def. worth a once thru.

Never Cry Werewolf by Heather Davis : Another book about summer camp, although in this one, our heroine encounters a few things NOT mentioned in the camp brochure. I had a love/hate relationship with this book. The main character had split personalities, I swear, because her attitudes continuously contradicted each other. It also felt like Davis was just writing some of the parts so she could just get to the good stuff. By the end I was hooked enough to look up if there was going to be a sequel (which I guess says something), I just wish the plot would have been fleshed out more. I do think it will go over well with the younger teen crowd.

The Summoning by Kelley Armstrong : First and foremost, I have to say I adore this cover. Anyhoo, The Summoning is about a girl who starts seeing and hearing things and ends up in a group home to help sort out the issues. However, the group home only seems to be making the problem worse. I ADORED this book. Once again, it was an original storyline. Even though it was a little rushed at times (and I got confused easily, but it was the middle of the semester, so i’m not sure that’s the book’s fault), the plot line was great. And I can’t even begin to explain how shocked I was by the twist at the end. Can’t wait to read the sequel!

Prada and Prejudice by Mandy Hubbard : A re-telling (sort of) or Pride and Prejudice, when a girl gets transported back in time after buying a real pair of Prada shoes. I know it sounds cheesy and hokey, but it was really, really cute. No, it’s not going to win a peace prize or anything, but when I finished it, I was literally grinning from ear to ear. It also is an insanely quick read.

Academy 7 by Anne Osterlund : Set in a galaxy far, far away but in the way, way future, Academy 7 follows two teens (one privileged, one an alien [not the green kind, but rather the illegal kind]) as they make their way through a prestigious high school. I was pretty underwhelmed by this book. Once again, really neat premise, but it kinda fell flat upon reading it. There were some good parts, and futuristic stories are always interesting to me because I love the random inventions – and they were pretty cool! – but I just got kind of…bored. Shrugs.

All ARCs were free at a conference!

Leave a Reply

