Paper Towns

by John Green

Basic Summary: Quentin Jacobsen (aka Q) is a month from graduation. He’s spent the last four years hanging with the band geeks, playing video games and getting good grades to head to Duke. Enter his hot, popular and free-spirited neighbor Margo Roth Spiegelman. Through his window. In the middle of the night. With a revenge mission. Needless to say Q’s last month of high school will not be like his first 39. Especially when Margo disappears and leaves him clues on how to find her.

Kell’s Chatty Review: I have mentioned my love for all things John Green. Paper Towns is no exception. The concept of both the book Paper Towns and actual paper towns is fascinating. Margo might be one of my favorite characterizations in a John Green book. Mostly because I get her. And by getting her, I mean, I understand that she doesn’t know who she is because she’s busy being certain things to certain people (which, incidentally, was why I liked Lindsey in An Abundance of Katherines).

But its really the secondary characters that sell this book. They aren’t one-dimensional or stereotypical. They are funny and honest and an excellent mirror of different reactions to Q’s Quest (Awesome Alliteration, I know). You laugh, you cry, you scream, you despair. In a nutshell, you love it. (or at least, I did).

Is it worth the read: Yes. For the breakdown of a 24-hour road trip alone. And for the creative genius that is John Green via Margo Roth Spiegelman’s exploits.

What this book taught me about life: The best way to exact revenge is via catfish.

What I most want to do after reading this book: I desperately want to find and visit a copyright trap. Desperately.

Favorite Passage: Honestly, I cannot find my favorite passage of this book (which is proof that you should ALWAYS carry a bookmark), which had something to do with time passing more slowly in high school and if you only have one day to live, go there. When I actually find it, I will post it.

In the meantime, my fave Greek-myth, humor-inducing quote: “Eat it, goblin! Eat it like Zeus ate Metis!” (Paper Towns, page 107).

Re-Readability Rating: 4.02 bookmarks. Technically, the rating should be higher because now I must re-read it to find my passage. But normally, this would be one of those books to read first to last page. The first section gives it a higher rating, though, because I’ve already re-read that. Pure genius revenge mission. Fabulous.

One response to “Paper Towns

  1. Pingback: Andromeda Klein « The Re-Shelf

Leave a Reply

